Friday, May 29, 2009

Manmohan Singh installs "MS office " with 78 Ministers in cabinet

The week long Manmohan Singh government today completed the expansion of his Ministry by adding another 59 Ministers to his previous council of 19 thereby taking the tally to 78 ministers in his cabinet.

Manmohan Singh The news finally came in at 9.30 pm on Thursday when all the portfolios were out and it was eventually clear as to which Minister got what portfolio. Initially it as felt that the whole affair was on expected lines but then came in a few surprises. The former commerce Minister Mr Kamal Nath was moved to surface transport while a new commerce minister in Anand Sharma came in. Veerappa Moily as the law minister was also a surprise for many.

The tough balancing act with due consideration to regions, caste, political experience, political weight, religion, aptitude and merit had to be all taken into account before the exhaustive process of allocating the ministries was finally done. The government was also expecting efficiency from the new incumbents and as the Prime Minister noted that "business as usual' would not do.

No MP from Goa or UP could find a place in the cabinet either as a cabinet minister or as a minister of state.There are currently two congress MPs from Goa in the parliament with Mr Francisco Sardinha elected to the Lok sabha from Mormugao Constituency while Mr Shantaram Naik represents Goa in the Rajhya sabha. Other notable exclusions from the cabinet include the former KRD minister Mr Arjun Singh, Mr HR Bhardwaj, Jat veteran Mr Sisram Ola and outgoing Ministers Saifuddin Soz and Ashwini Kumar.

With 33 ministers of cabinet rank, seven Ministers of State( MoS) with independent charge and 38 MoS, there is hardly any more space for any more candidates as the council of ministers cannot cross 81 and therefore only 3 more can be accommodated.

The 78 ministers has 29 first timers and nine ex- Chief Ministers. the Nationalist Congress party's (NCP) Agatha Sangma is the youngest ever Minister at 28. She is the junior minister to CP Joshi who will also hold the additional charge of Panchayati Raj

The following is the exhaustive list of the ministers in the Manmohan Singh cabinet, with their portfolios

No Name Age Portfolio
  Manmohan Singh 76 Prime Minister
1 A K Antony 68 Defence
2 S M Krishna 77 External Affairs
3 Ghulam Nabi Azad 60 Health
4 Vayalar ravi 71 Overseas Indian Affairs
5 Murli Deora 72 Petroleum
6 Ambika Soni 65 Information and Broadcasting
7 Anand Sharma 56 Commerce & Industry
8 G K Vasan 44 Shipping
9 Vilasrao Dehsmukh 64 Heavy Industries
10 M S Gill 72 Youth Affairs and Sports
11 Pranab Mukherjee 74 Finance
12 Mukul Wasnik 50 Social Justice
13 Sharad Pawar 69 Agriculture
14 Dayanidhi Maran 42 Textiles
15 P Chidambaram 64 Home Affairs
16 A Raja 47 Communications and IT
17 Mamata Banerjee 54 Railways
18 Sushilkumar Shinde 68 Power
19 M Veerappa Moily 69 Law
20 Mallikarjun Kharge 67 Labour
21 S Jaipal Reddy 67 Urban Development
22 Kamal Nath 63 Surface Transport
23 Meira Kumar 64 Water Resources
24 Kapil Sibal 61 Human Resources
25 Pawan K Bansal 60 Parliamentary Affairs
26 Kumari Selja 47 Housing, Tourism
27 B K Handique 75 Mines, NE Development
28 C P Joshi 58 Rural Development, Panchati Raj
29 M K Azhagiri 58 Chemicals & Fertilizers
30 Virbhadra Singh 75 Steel
31 Farooq Abdullah 72 New and Renewable energy
32 Subodh Kant Sahay 58 Food Processing industries
33 Kantilal Bhuria 58 Tribal Affairs
  Ministers of state Independent charge
34 Prithviraj Chavan 63 Science and Tech,PMO,Personnel
35 Jairam Ramesh 55 Environment & Forest
36 Praful Patel 52 Civil Aviation
37 Sriprakash Jaiswal 64 Coal, Statistics
38 Salman Khursheed 56 Corporate, Minorities
39 Dinsha Patel 72 MSM Enterprises
40 Krishna Tirath 54 Women & Child Development
  Ministers of state    
41 Srikant Jena 58 Chemicals
42 E Ahamed 71 Railways
43 Mullapally Ramachandran 53 Home affairs
44 V Narayanasamy 61 Planning, Parliamentary affairs
45 Jyotiraditya Scindia 38 Commerce and Industry
46 D Purandeswari 50 Commerce and Industry
47 K H Muniyappa 61 Railways
48 Ajay Maken 45 Home Affairs
49 Panabaka Lakshmi 50 Textiles
50 Namo Narain Meena 65 Finance
51 M M Paliam Raju 46 Defence
52 Saugata Roy 62 Urban Development
53 S S Palanimanickam 58 Finance
54 Jitin Prasad 36 Petroleum and natural Gas
55 A Sai Prathap 64 Steel
56 Gurudas kamat 55 Communications and IT
57 Harish Rawat 62 Labour and Employment
58 K V Thomas 63 Agri, ConsAffairs, food and PD
59 Mahadev Khandela 65 Road transport and highways
60 Dinesh Trivedi 59 Health and family welfare
61 Sisir Adhikari 66 Rural Development
62 Sultan Ahmed 56 Tourism
63 Mukul Roy 55 Shipping
64 Mohan Jatua 71 I&B
65 D Napoleon 46 Social Justice & Empowerment
66 S Jagathrakhshakan 61 I&B
67 S Gandhiselvan 46 Health and Family Welfare
68 Preneet Kaur 64 External Affairs
69 Tusharbhai Chaudhury 42 Tribal Affairs
70 Sachin Pilot 31 Communications and IT
71 Arun Yadav 35 Youth Affairs and Sports
72 Prateek P Patil 35 Heavy Industries & Public Ent.
73 R P N Singh 39 Road transport and Highways
74 Shashi Tharoor 53 External Affairs
75 Vincent Pala 41 Water Resources
76 Pradeep Jain 49 Rural Development
77 Bharatsinh solanki 55 Power
78 Agatha Sangma 28 Rural Development

No comments:

Blog Widget by LinkWithin